## Monroe County Legislature OFFICE OF MONROE COUNTY EXECUTIVE MAGGIE BROOKS

## Proclamation

Since its establishment in 1983, the Blue Ribbon Schools Program has honored both public and private elementary, middle and high schools for their exemplary achievements in academic standards.

The Blue Ribbon award is the highest award a school can receive from the United States Department of Education. It is awarded to schools that have proven to be academically superior or have shown dramatic gains in student achievement. This recognition is given to 300 schools out of the approximately 400,000 public and private schools nationwide.

In 2010, Florence Brasser Elementary School, part of the Gates Chili Central School District, was awarded the honor of being a nationally recognized Blue Ribbon School in the "High Performing" category. Once a one-room schoolhouse in 1854, Florence Brasser Elementary has grown and become one of Monroe County's finest public elementary schools. Under the leadership of Building Principal Timothy Young, the school's students and faculty have soared beyond expectations to meet the high standards of the Blue Ribbon Program recognition.

Principal Young attributes the extraordinary success of his school to the hard work and commitment of teachers, students, families and the surrounding Gates Chili community. Both past and present students have worked hard to make this award a reality. There has been a 97% recorded attendance for students and teachers for the past few years, a focus on small class sizes and a spirit of caring, individualized education for all children.

THEREFORE, We, Maggie Brooks, Monroe County Executive, Jeffery R. Adair, Legislator - President and Mary A. Valerio, Legislator - District 3, do hereby proclaim Tuesday, June 14, 2011 to be:

## FLORENCE BRASSER ELEMENTARY SCHOOL DAY

in Monroe County, and congratulate Principal Young, students and staff of Florence Brasser Elementary School, and the Gates Chili Central School District on receiving this prestigious honor.

**WE HAVE HEREUNTO** set our hands this fourteenth day of June in the year two thousand and eleven.

MAGGIE BROOKS

MONRO COUNTY EXECUTIVE

JEEFRY R. ADAIR

MONROE COUNTY LEGISLATURE

PRESIDENT

MARY A. VAJARIO

MONROE COUNTY LEGISLATURE

LEGISLATOR - DISTRICT 3